Adjudicators Appointed to Inquiry Roster

Apr 18, 2024

Five Nova Scotia lawyers have been appointed to a board of inquiry adjudicator roster for human rights cases. Another five have been re-appointed.

Adjudicators are an essential part of the province’s independent human rights system as defined by the provincial Human Rights Act. Under the act, when a claim of discrimination cannot be settled through the established dispute resolution process at the Nova Scotia Human Rights Commission, it may be referred to a human rights board of inquiry for a public hearing and adjudication. These boards are independent of the commission and led by a chair appointed from this roster of qualified lawyers by the chief judge of the provincial court.

Perry Borden, chief judge of the Provincial and Family Courts, chaired a diverse, six-member selection committee to assess candidates following a call for applications in November. It recommended appointments to the commissioners of the Nova Scotia Human Rights Commission, which approved them on Wednesday, April 17.

The new adjudicators reflect much-needed diversity and are from across the province. They are:

  • Simeon Atunbi, Halifax
  • Ryan Clements, Liverpool
  • Nancy Elliott, Halifax
  • Kelly McMillan, Halifax
  • Tuma Young, Malagawatch (Eskasoni)

Those reappointed are:

  • Lynn Connors, Kentville
  • Dennis James, Truro
  • Donald Murray, Dartmouth
  • Benjamin Perryman, Halifax
  • Eric Slone, Halifax

Adjudicators are appointed for five-year terms.