Board Chairs

The roster for Board of Inquiry Chairs is created by an independent selection committee which evaluates their qualifications. The minimum qualifications currently are:

  • A law degree
  • At least five years of experience in their professional field.
  • Demonstrated experience in weighing conflicting information/evidence to arrive at a fair Decision.
  • Demonstrated experience in chairing hearings, meetings, or consultations where there are conflicting interests.
  • Experience with human rights legislation or human rights issues.
  • Resident of Nova Scotia, subject to the discretion of the Commission to appoint to the Panel Member Roster an individual(s) living within a reasonable travel radius of Nova Scotia, i.e., in a major centre in Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick.

Desirable qualifications include:

From among the applicants who meet the minimum qualifications listed above, preference for appointment to the Panel Member Roster will be given to those who have:

  • Experience with administrative or quasi-judicial tribunals.
  • Experience applying principles of natural justice.
  • Experience with conflict resolution such as mediation or other forms of alternative dispute resolution.
  • Knowledge of discrimination and its effects on individuals and society. Familiarity with approaches to preventing and remedying discrimination
  • Commitment to restorative approaches to dispute resolution
  • Experience with social justice issues.
  • Experience with cross-cultural issues.

The current Board of Inquiry Chair roster (2024) consists of the following members:

  • Simeon Atunbi, Halifax
  • Ryan Clements, Liverpool
  • Nancy Elliott, Halifax
  • Kelly McMillan, Halifax
  • Tuma Young, Malagawatch (Eskasoni)
  • Lynn Connors, Kentville
  • Dennis James, Truro
  • Donald Murray, Dartmouth
  • Benjamin Perryman, Halifax
  • Eric Slone, Halifax