Human Rights Awards

** PLEASE NOTE: The deadline for nominations for the 2019 Nova Scotia Human Rights Awards has been extended until 430 PM, Friday, November 8th.***


The Nova Scotia Human Rights Awards are presented annually by the Nova Scotia Human Rights Commission to acknowledge the good work of Nova Scotians who advance human rights at the community level.

Human rights are those conditions, expectations, and standards to which every person is entitled by virtue of his or her existence as a human being.

The awards are administered by Partners for Human Rights. Nova Scotians are encouraged to nominated those around them whose commitment and action in the area of human rights helps to create stronger, more inclusive communities.

Completed nomination forms should be emailed to

Past Award Recipients


Youth Award

  • Kardeisha Provo, North Preston

Individual Awards

  • Eric Smith, Halifax
  • Huwaida Medani, Halifax

Dr. Burnley Allan "Rocky" Jones Award

  • DeRico Symonds, Halifax

Group or Organization Awards

  • Inverness Development Association, Inverness
  • The South End Environmental Injustice Society, Shelburne


Dr. Burnley Allan "Rocky" Jones Individual Award

  • Angela Simmonds
  • Nicole Doria
  • Wade Smith (post-humoous)

Youth Award

  • Joshua Cochrane

Group or Organization Award

  • Syria-Antigonish Families Embrace
  • Bill 59 Community Alliance
  • Women’s Wellness Within


Dr. Burnley Allan "Rocky" Jones Individual Award

  • Raymond G. Tynes
  • El Jones
  • Dr. David Leitch

Youth Award

  • Samuel Gregan

Group or Organization Award

  • Immigrant Services Association of Nova Scotia
  • Alexa McDonough Institute, Mount Saint Vincent University


Dr. Burnley Allan "Rocky" Jones Individual Award

  • Dr. Afua Cooper
  • Warren "Gus" Reed

Youth Award

  • Highland Park Junior High's Gender/Sexuality Alliance

Group or Organization Award

  • Project ARC


  • Sgt. Craig Marshall Smith
  • Scott Jones
  • Nova Scotia Mass Choir


  • Brandon Finyanos
  • Jessica Durling
  • Dr. Burnley Allan “Rocky” Jones
  • Margaret Rose Mauger
  • Sheri Lecker


  • Graham "Jake" MacDonald 
  • Christine Porter
  • Avalon Sexual Assault Centre
  • No Glory Productions (Yarmouth Consolidated Memorial High School) 


  • Tringa Rexhepi
  • Doreen Crick
  • The Halifax Refugee Clinic


  • Kendra Angelique Slawter
  • Anne Smith Simmons


  • Helena Jockel
  • Philip Riteman
  • Viola Robinson


  • Logan MacGillivray
  • reachAbility


  • Janice Smith
  • Cole Harbour Boys and Girls Club
  • Sobaz Benjamin


  • Dr. Hetty Van Gurp, Peaceful Schools Initiative
  • Senator Donald Oliver
  • Pat Skinner


  • Percy Paris
  • Sam Lafford
  • Just Us! Coffee Roasters Co-op’s Jeff and Deborah Moore


  • Food Not Bombs
  • Mel Boutilier, Parker Street Food Bank
  • Dr. Wanda Thomas Bernard 
  • The Asper Foundation
  • Holocaust & Human Rights Studies Program 


  • Cedric Upshaw, Black Youth Liaison
  • Bob Fougere, NS Rainbow Action Project 
  • Multicultural Association of Nova Scotia (MANS) 


  • “14 Days in December” Resource Committee, Lesbian, Gay and Bisexual Youth Project
  • Juan Carlos Canales-Leyton, Centre for Diverse Visible Cultures
  • M. Lee Cohen, Halifax Refugee Clinic
  • Scotiabank 


  • Cole Harbour Community Radio Society
  • Rabbi Mendel & Bassie Feldman 
  • Emergency Measures Organizations, Nova Scotia/Halifax Regional Emergency Measures 
  • Volition (Pictou County)


  • Crossley Carpet Mills Ltd.
  • Shining Lights Choir 
  • Black Loyalist Heritage Society
  • NS Federation of Labour


  • Henderson Paris 
  • Cava Chronicle, the Cole Harbour High School newspaper
  • Rev. Dr. D.D Skier 


  • Flemming Holm
  • Yaffa Elling & Brownwen Trim 


  • Yarmouth Affirmative Action Committee
  • Diane Swinemar, Metro Food Bank
  • Bill Crawford, Yarmouth County AA Committee
  • Joseph Howe School 


  • Employees of Dorchester Corporation
  • Bev Sweetman
  • Barbara Goldsmith 
  • Dr. Calvin Ruck


  • National Film Board of Canada
  • Amnesty International
  • Metropolitan Immigrant Settlement Association (MISA)
  • Metro Coalition for a Non-Racist Society, Cultural Awareness Youth Group 


  • Black Educators Association Affirmative Action initiative with Halifax Regional School Board: Brad Barton, Marilyn Berry, Sandra Best, Frances Clements, Jenny Costelo, Edith Cromwell, Alan Cuvelier, Marie Germaine d’Entremont, Jim Donovan, Chief Noel Doucette, Doris Evans, Debi Forsyth-Smith, Cst. Marion Fraser, Robert Ganong, Alma Johnston, Victor Jones, Alan Knockwood, Dawn Leblanc, Mary MacLennan, Anne MacRae, Marion Matheson, John Rogers, Laughlin Rutt, Lem Skeete, Nancy Sparks, Victor Thibault, Robert Upshaw.


  • Dr. Donald E. Curren, Buddy Daye, Cynthia Debaie, Kjathir Jeganathan (posthumous), Dr. P. Anthony Johnston (posthumous), Rev. Dr. Duncan MacNab (posthumous), Dr. George F. McCurdy (posthumous), James Richard McEwan (posthumous), Winifred Mary Milne, Leslie Samson (posthumous), Marvin Schiff, Msgr. Nil Theriault.


  • Antigonish East High School
  • Caudle Park Elementary School
  • Cole Harbour District High School
  • Digby Regional High School 


  • Hon. Mr. Justice W. Andrew MacKay
  • Dr. Ronald St. John Macdonald
  • Gus Wedderburn


  • Gary Dockendorff
  • Halifax Cablevision Limited
  • Libraries that set up supportive human rights displays.
  • National Film Board of Canada
  • Metro Telecaster
  • Students of Holy Angels High School
  • Students of St. Mary’s School


  • Seven people honoured for outstanding achievements &/or services to disabled community.
  • Digby Regional High School